Hey, you wanna take this outside?

I’m finally taking the leap to start blogging outside of my company intranet. It’s awakening a part of my skill set that’s been dormant for a bit and that’s exciting. So before I start pumping out posts I’d like to start by telling everyone who I am.

I’ve been working in technology, mostly learning technology, for the past 17 years. I’ve worked in several different industries and I’ve tried to take something with me from each experience to build a well-rounded set of competencies.

Before I jumped into technology, I was a sports editor for 11 years in the newspaper business. I’ve worked at Newsday, Greenwich Time, The National Sport Daily, The Modesto Bee and The Trentonian; where I finally realized my dream of becoming a Sports Editor.

Around 1994 I could see there was trouble ahead for the newspaper industry. It was clear that emerging technologies would radically change the business. Back then I thought people would go to the newsstand and get a floppy disc for the daily paper that plugged into a reader device, like on the Jetsons. By 1996 the writing was on the wall for newspapers and I decided to go back to school and learn interactivity and HTML so that I could survive in the New Media world. My first gig in technology was with Merrill Lynch, helping to build the first intranet training site (1998). In between stints at Merrill (I worked there again until the Sept. 15, 2008 collapse) I spent time at Music Choice working in interactive TV.

After the crash I landed at Merck, where I am now leading the charge for Social Learning within the company. I see how this communication method is changing business and how many similarities there are to the late ’90s and the proliferation of the web. I am determined to learn from those boom times and change old thinking into new reality.

Along the way the single biggest lesson I’ve learned is that you need to adapt and grow to keep pace with change. I refuse to become the type of dinosaur I saw in newspapers as it crumbled and now in old-thought corporate learning. I hope by sharing and collaborating I can keep evolving and avoid the asteroid of change.

 

About John Buonora

Social Learning Manager and Strategist working on career number three. An Old School guy with Millennial skills and a lover of my family, sports and food.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hey, you wanna take this outside?

  1. Janet Bavas says:

    Love!

  2. denise mann says:

    Like it John! Love the title…

Leave a Reply

